UAE Freelance Visa 2026: Fees, Eligibility & Application Guide

uae-freelance-visa-2026

A UAE freelance visa is not one single document. In everyday use the term covers two separate things: a freelance permit or licence (permission to work independently, issued by MOHRE or a free zone) and a residence route that lets you live in the UAE. The best-known residence route is the five-year Green Residence, often called the Green Visa, which requires a MOHRE freelance permit first. Holding a permit does not automatically give you residence. This guide explains the routes, eligibility, verified costs and application steps, with each claim tied to the authority that publishes it.

What Is a UAE Freelance Visa?

The term “UAE freelance visa” refers to both a residency arrangement and authorization to operate independently. The permit, the licensing body, and the choice of domicile all influence the precise path.

In the UAE, living and working are legally distinct. According to the u.ae work permits page, working without a valid MOHRE work permit is prohibited per Article 6 of Federal Decree-Law No. 33 of 2021. Residence is a separate approval. No single federal product covers every freelance arrangement.

Types of UAE Freelance Visa and Permit Options

RouteMain purposeRelevant authorityKey consideration
MOHRE freelance work permitPermission for independent workMOHREBased on the applicant’s own residence for foreign nationals
Free zone freelance licenceLicence to work as a sole professionalA specific free zone (e.g. DDA in Dubai)Activities, conditions and visa options vary by free zone
Green Residence for freelancersFive-year self-sponsored residenceICP (GDRFA Dubai for Dubai applicants)Needs a MOHRE permit plus qualification and income conditions
Virtual work residence visaRemote work for an employer outside the UAEICP (Dubai runs a separate programme)Not a freelance route

This list is not exhaustive. Other free zones and emirates publish their own offers.

UAE Freelance Visa Requirements 2026

Requirements depend on the route, so they are kept separate below.

1. Freelance permit or licence

Each authority sets its own list. As an example, the Dubai Development Authority (DDA) Sole Professional Licence lists:

  • A valid passport copy, with the residence visa page if you have one
  • An NOC from external authorities where the Licensing Categories Decision (Article 08) requires it
  • A self-declaration form if you hold a valid visa

MOHRE and other free zones publish their own documents. Check the authority that will license your activity.

2. Residence processing

Medical fitness, Emirates ID and insurance steps depend on the route and emirate. Confirm them with the authority handling your residence.

3. Green Residence for freelancers (ICP criteria)

The Federal Authority for Identity, Citizenship, Customs & Port Security (ICP) lists these requirements for freelancers and self-employed individuals:

  • A freelance work permit or self-employment permit issued by MOHRE
  • A qualification of no less than a bachelor’s degree, specialised diploma or equivalent
  • Proof of stable annual income or financial solvency throughout the period of residence
  • Annual income from freelance work during the previous two years of not less than AED 360,000, or the equivalent in foreign currencies

ICP does not explain how the AED 360,000 figure is assessed, so confirm this with the authority handling your application. The Abu Dhabi Residents Office (ADRO) words the income test as AED 360,000 or proof of financial solvency, while ICP lists the income and the solvency proof as separate items. Where wording differs, follow the latest ICP guidance and confirm which proof applies to you.

Important: these are Green Residence conditions. There are no requirements for every freelance permit or free zone licence.

Who Can Apply for a UAE Freelance Visa?

  • Independent professionals can apply for a freelance permit or licence from an authority that approves their activity.
  • Applicants who want the Green Residence must meet the ICP conditions above.
  • The MOHRE freelance permit is described for foreign nationals on self-sponsored residence, so applicants outside the UAE should confirm with MOHRE or a free zone how permit and residence are sequenced.
  • People already in the UAE should check their current visa status and any NOC conditions before switching.

The ICP freelancer criteria do not list nationality or age conditions. Eligible activities depend on the issuing authority.

How to Apply for a UAE Freelance Visa

uae-freelance-visa-permit-vs-residence

Choose your activity, pick the authority that licenses it, obtain the permit or licence, then apply for the residence route you qualify for. Steps differ by authority.

  1. Decide which freelance activity you will carry out.
  2. Identify the licensing authority (MOHRE or a free zone) and confirm it permits your activity.
  3. Review that authority’s current requirements, fees and residence options.
  4. Submit the permit or licence application. For DDA’s Sole Professional Licence, the service page directs applicants to the TECOM Group website, then “Set up as a Freelancer”. Portal menu names can change, so follow the steps on the authority’s page.
  5. Upload the required documents and pay the invoice. DDA sends an acknowledgement of receipt.
  6. Complete any additional approvals, such as an NOC where applicable.
  7. For the Green Residence, apply through ICP once your MOHRE permit is valid. Dubai applicants can use GDRFA Dubai’s self-employment service.
  8. Complete medical fitness, Emirates ID and other formalities where required.
  9. Confirm that the permit and residence are actually issued before you rely on them.

UAE Freelance Visa Cost in 2026

There is no single official total. Costs are separate charges:

ItemPublished figureSource
DDA Sole Professional Licence (Dubai)AED 7,500 permit fee, plus AED 10 Knowledge Dirham and AED 10 Innovation Dirham per transactionDDA service page
Green residence permit (self-employment), GDRFA DubaiAED 200 permit fee, AED 10 + AED 10 Dirhams, AED 500 fee inside the country, AED 20 delivery. The issuance fee rises by AED 100 for each year beyond twoGDRFA Dubai service listing
MOHRE freelance permitNo standalone freelance fee is published in the sources checkedConfirm on mohre.gov.ae

The u.ae page gives a range of AED 250 to AED 3,450 for establishment work permits, depending on employer classification. It is not stated as a freelance permit fee.

Medical tests, Emirates ID, insurance and renewals are extra and vary. Agent quotes often differ widely from official fees, so confirm current figures on the issuing authority’s page before paying.

UAE Freelance Visa Processing Time

No official universal timeline is published. DDA estimates 2 working days for its Sole Professional Licence, but that covers the licence step only. Entry permit, residence, medical and Emirates ID timelines are separate and depend on the authority and route. Treat any “full process in X days” claim as unverified.

Freelance Permit vs Freelance Visa vs Green Residence

A freelance permit lets you do the work. A residence permit lets you live in the UAE. The Green Residence is one specific residence category. None of them automatically guarantees the others.

FeatureFreelance permit or licenceResidence linked to a freelance routeGreen Residence for freelancers
Main functionPermission for an approved activityPermission to resideSelf-sponsored five-year residence
AuthorityMOHRE or free zoneRelevant immigration authorityICP (GDRFA Dubai for Dubai)
ValidityVaries by authorityVaries by routeFive years, renewable
EligibilityActivity and authority specificRoute specificMOHRE permit, qualification, income or solvency
Guarantees the others?NoN/ANo, approval is required

UAE Freelance Visa vs UAE Work Visa

A standard UAE work visa is employer-sponsored and tied to a job. A freelance route is self-directed, with no sponsoring employer. For employment requirements and steps, see the UAE work visa guide.

Is the Virtual Work Visa a Freelance Visa?

No. The virtual work residence visa is for people employed by an organisation outside the UAE. ICP’s service lists proof of remote employment outside the UAE, a salary certificate of USD 3,500 or the equivalent, and a passport valid for at least six months. The beneficiary does not need to be inside the UAE for issuance. Dubai runs a separate virtual working programme with its own conditions. Freelancers who serve clients under their own permit should look at the routes above instead.

Can You Work for Multiple Clients on a Freelance Permit?

The u.ae page describes freelance permit holders as providing services to individuals or companies, and does not state a client limit. Your approved activity and licence terms still set the scope, so confirm them with your issuing authority. Free zone licences may add their own conditions.

Can Freelancers Sponsor Their Families?

ICP lists the ability to sponsor family members, including a spouse and children, as a Green Residence benefit, in accordance with the approved requirements. For other freelance permits and free zone visas, sponsorship depends on your residence category and the issuer.

Renewal and Cancellation

The Green Residence is renewable, and ICP mentions specified grace periods after expiry. ICP does not state the grace-period length on its Green Residence page. Renewal timing, grace periods and cancellation steps for permits depend on the issuer. Confirm current terms with MOHRE, your free zone, ICP or GDRFA before anything expires. For general residence background, see the UAE residence visa guide.

Common Mistakes

  • Assuming a freelance permit includes residence
  • Confusing a free zone package with the Green Residence
  • Applying under an activity your licence does not cover
  • Relying on agent quotes instead of official fees
  • Assuming all free zones offer the same services
  • Treating Green Residence criteria as requirements for every permit
  • Working before the permit is issued
  • Ignoring renewal dates

Frequently Asked Questions

What is a UAE freelance visa? 

It is shorthand for a freelance permit or licence plus a residence route. It is not a single federal document.

How can I get a UAE freelance visa? 

Obtain a permit from MOHRE or a free zone, then apply for a residence route you qualify for, such as the Green Residence.

What are the UAE freelance visa requirements?

They depend on authority. The ICP criteria for the Green Residence are listed above.

How much does a UAE freelance visa cost? 

It varies by route. Published examples: the DDA Sole Professional Licence is AED 7,500 plus Dirham fees, and GDRFA Dubai lists the self-employment Green residence permit at AED 200 plus the other charges shown in the cost table.

How long does it take? 

No universal timeline is published. DDA estimates 2 working days for its licence only.

Is a freelance permit the same as a visa?

No. A permit authorizes work, while a visa or residence permit authorizes living in the UAE.

What is the difference between a freelance visa and the Green Residence? 

The Green Residence is a specific five-year residence category with its own conditions. A freelance permit is only one of its requirements.

Can I get a freelance visa without an employer? 

Yes. The MOHRE permit is described as employer independent, and the Green Residence needs no sponsor within the UAE.

Can freelancers get the five-year Green Residence? 

Yes, if they meet the ICP conditions and the application is approved.

Is AED 360,000 required for every freelance permit? 

No. It is an ICP criterion for the Green Residence. ADRO words the income test as income or financial solvency, so confirm which proof applies to you.

Do I need a degree for a freelance permit? 

ICP lists a bachelor’s degree, specialised diploma or equivalent as a Green Residence condition. Permit and free zone requirements are set by each authority.

Can I work with multiple clients? 

The u.ae page describes services to individuals or companies without naming a client limit. Check your licence terms.

Can I sponsor my family?

ICP lists family sponsorship as a Green Residence benefit under approved requirements.

Can I switch from an employment visa? 

No single switching process is published in the sources checked. Confirm with the relevant authority, including any NOC rules.

Can I freelance on a tourist visa? 

Working requires a valid permit under Article 6 of Federal Decree-Law No. 33 of 2021, and a visit visa does not itself authorize work. Confirm with the authority.

How do I renew? 

Renew the permit with its issuer and the residence with ICP or GDRFA, ahead of expiry.

Note: ICP, MOHRE, GDRFA, DDA and free zone portals update their menus, requirements and fees from time to time. If a screen, checklist or fee looks different from what is described here, follow the official portal. This guide is independent and is not affiliated with any UAE government authority or free zone.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *